Admiral caterpillars

• Creator
    Topic

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi guys,

I’m not sure if they’re still in season, (I’m new to admirals)

but does anyone have admiral caterpillars (or eggs, I’m not sure which is better)? I have quite a few nettle plants, which should be ready in a week or so, so I’d only need a couple. I live in Northland. Where we live I haven’t ever seen an admiral. Any help would be greatly appreciated :-)

Thanks,

Thomas

Viewing 25 replies - 1 through 25 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Errol
    Participant

If I were to post them, could the caterpillars last the three or four days closed up in a box or whatever?

Does anyone have experience with sending caterpillars by mail?

Errol
    Participant

I’m in Motueka, West across the Tasman Bay from Nelson.

Pepetuna
    Participant

Where are you Errol? Rebecca is in Te Rapa, Hamilton.

Errol
    Participant

I have probably more caterpillers than I need, as I only have a small nettle patch. Also  I doubt very much that they have been parasited by a wasp, as I bought them inside when they were just tiny little things.

They are now safe and sound in their castle, so I could spare some if anyone wants. It might be better though for someone to pick them, as I have no experience with posting or how to do it.

They are by the way, Yellow Admirals or at least some of them are.

Pepetuna
    Participant

Hi Rebecca. Have just got back from flying visit to Chch – saw lots of Admirals there, both Red and Yellow, but will post that in another post. The European nettle you are growing is fine, and it is probably my most important host plant species: the little annual native one just doesn’t grow fast enough for me, and the big-leafed Urtica australis also runs out long before the European nettle does.