Common Milkweed

• This topic is empty.
  • Creator
    Topic

milkweed
    Participant

Cant remember if i told everyone this or not but my common milkweed finally flowered last summer for the first time in New Zealand. Ive been nuturing my plants for some 7 seven years and this was a milestone in my observations of this plant. Even more astonishing was that it was growing in a large pot so my theory that it needs open ground to flower is nonsense. I could have sworn that this plant that flowered was Showy milkweed and not Common milkweed as this one in the pot was the Showy milkweed that I planted. The two species are very similar but after examining photos from the U.S. I guessed it was Common. It didnt set pods or seed, I suspect because it needs to be cross pollinated by another separate plants flower (either Common or Showy because these two species will hybridize together).

About a year ago I posted Jacqui or Barbara or Diana (I cant remember now) some Common milkweed rootlets and Im very keen to know if they grew this last summer gone? Or did they die? Once established Common milkweed is very easy to grow but when it is young it is susceptable to diseases and pests. Cheers for this great hobby of ours!

Viewing 9 replies - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Replies

ps if you get really stuck, try transfering them to wild moth plant you will find its easy to spot at the moment the large vine with the large green pods(they are a pest plant so would not recomend moving the plants, seed, pods etc)

Hi

I dont usually have probs with wet feet for any milkweekd species, but the snails ringbarked my large swan plant and nettle trees last year. One night after some rain we collected 1/2 a bucket of snails!!!

Angie

rgrrbt
    Participant