Create Butterfly Habitat Course – May 2015

• Creator
    Topic

Dane Keriboi Hawker
    Participant

Hi all,

I am Dane and live in Browns Bay Auckland.

I am a Golf Course Turf Manager at a very large golf course on the North Shore. The past five or so years I have extensively investigated in reducing costs and man hours for looking after the golf course.
    course

I have devised plans that out of play areas are left to grow long and naturalise. We have made great savings and increased the aesthetic look of the golf course.
    long grass

To make these areas even more interesting I have been playing around with wildflowers and created a couple of areas on the course.
    lake

This summer I will be doing some very large areas where the wildflowers will be mixed with the naturalised area to make large fields of colour and life.

Couple of years ago we got our first home but the backyard was a mess. Turned it around and I am now on design 3 for the backyard.
    Lawn

I had a couple of swan plants that grew huge and this year my daughter who is 18 months was very interested in the monarchs. I now have about twenty swan plants in the back garden and growing on some tropical milkweed to fill the garden with colour. I will planting more plants and hacking out more grass to replace with wildflowers. Who wants to mow grass? 🙂

At the golf course is where I want to do my big projects. I have another twenty swan plants that I have grown up to plant around some of our lakes to increase monarchs around the course. We already have many flying around.

I look forward to doing the course 🙂

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Dane Keriboi Hawker
    Participant

Hi Michelle,