DISASTER!!

• This topic is empty.
  • Creator
    Topic

Skelvissie
    Participant

Hi There,

I am very new to this, this is my very first post. I only happened to find the site by accident when I went online to find a ‘food’ solution for my caterpillars. Sadly, they anihalated the Swanplants and when I got home this afternoon they were all gone. I managed to find quite a few of them walking all over the driveway obviously hunting for food.

I was absolutely heartbroken, I love them to bits, they’re like my little babies. Those I was able to retrieve including one chrysalis which fell off the plant because the leaf it was hanging from got eaten are now safely tucked in a shoe box punched full of holes.

I have stuck a piece of pumpkin in there and am dearly hoping they take to it as a temporary rescue remedy but so far it doesn’t seem as if they are liking it much. Is there a particular type of pumpkin I should be feeding them?

I haven’t been able to track down anymore swanplants, I will try another plant place tomorrow. I am worried if they don’t take to the pumpkin they will all die, I will be devastated!

I’m still inexperienced at this so I think I allowed too many caterpillars to hatch. How long should I wait to see if they eat the pumpkin or make the awful decision to euthanaise them :-(

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Mike Hoeta
    Participant

I love happy endings, it doesn’t always happen, last year I transplanted 30 or so on friends plants which were bare and lost almost the lot, so good one

Skelvissie
    Participant

Hi Everyone,

My sincerest apologies for not replying sooner, I have not had internet access 🙁