Have they all gone sex mad? Is this normal behaviour?

• Creator
    Topic

butterfly_crazy
    Participant

Hi  This is my first year of closely observing these little wonders, thanks to a rental in Tauranga with 2 large swan plants.  We’ve had tons and tons of butterflies and have watched many of them hatch. At one time at the end of winter all the caterpillars that were left just one day turned en masse into chrysallis form! Overnight. I counted 70 just hanging upside down along the fence palings. The neighbours had then all over their veggie garden, it was amazing. In all this time I have never seen a tagged one though …

But now, something new!  Huge plants, full of swans, no eggs and no caterpillars but masses and masses of butterflies,  (30 to 50 at times)  mostly battered and they all have one thing on their minds. Well, two because they drink the nectar when they’re not actually frolicking in a most unseemly way.  Some seem to be ‘stuck’ together for hours and fall to the ground flapping away and many are torn and battered and look utterly on their last legs!  Why are they mating so madly right now?

Where are the eggs? Where are the caterpillars? We have enough foliage to feed an army of caterpillars but all that lives there are lots of aphids. Are they eating the eaggs? Help! I love my butterflies and want more babies. We leave here soon to a new house and I already have a plant in a pot to begin it all again. This is a great site!

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Jacqui

Here’s another method I used the other day for egg emergence/transferring the caterpillars. I had someone coming who wanted to film a caterpillar emerging from the egg. I have plenty of eggs. I used to spray the eggs with a mister on the leaf and then lift them off using the bristle end of a paintbrush.