HELP! It's stormy out and I have a butterfly just emerged…

• Creator
    Topic

emmakate
    Participant

I had a butterfly emerge this morning, and it has been flexing its’ wings most of afternoon. Have just noticed now it’s doing little crash flights, and it’s wings are twitching every now and then, is this normal?? Or is it just not strong enough for full flight. Also, it’s is raining and windy out, should I release tonight or wait till tomorrow? THANKS!!!

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Anna
    Participant

I  do what Jacqui does when the weather is nasty, although at times I have kept them inside in a caterpillar castle that I bought from the MonarchButterfly trust, with a vase of flowers (Buddleia is a favourite) and they seem happy in there till the sun comes out, and they are released outside.

emmakate
    Participant

Hi BlueSkyBee, yes I too was pleased to read that about the weather (and considering I am an animal biologist I should have thought of it myself really…!). This forum is great – as I haven’t raised monarchs before its awesome to have pros to check things with, as I do get quite attached to my little mates, and like to see them all off safely 🙂

BlueSkyBee
    Participant

Emmakate, I had 6 chrysalises ready to hatch today, and was a tad worried as the weather has been nasty for the past few days (they are all outside, but sheltered) and this afternoon when the weather cleared, I have had 6 lovely monarchs hatch and 4 have gone, it seems two want to stay overnight.

After reading Jacquis post about them sensing weather, I was less worried about them 🙂

emmakate
    Participant