My first Monarch is about to take flight!

• Creator
    Topic

evie
    Participant

Sorry about the title, I am a newbie at this butterfly business. I am curious as to how long they take to fly off after coming out of the cocoon they have made. I have been timing my first one today and it has been there since mid morning. It is now after 5pm and it is still there preening itself and occasionally opening its wings up. I also have about 12 more caterpillars all gnawing eagerly and at various stages of their development. I take it that if there is not enough milk weed plant then some of them will die from starvation? I am thinking about putting some pumpkin or cucumber out for them when it looks really sparse pickings for them. I have only 5 plants in one medium pot and they are eating everything from the middle of the plants upwards and seem to leave the bottom leaves. Is this usual? Any feedback greatly appreciated. Eve

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Jacqui

Evie, our caterpillar castles are ideal for this purpose too. You can put your last instar caterpillars inside on swan plant and they make their pupae in the roof. Safe and sound!

caterpillar castle

evie
    Participant

Bron and Camryn…thank you so much for your reply.
    What a good idea with the bird cage. I might have a look around for one now that I know this! It would be ideal for the cooler weather to come as its transportable.