New at home raising

• Creator
    Topic

Sandra CA
    Participant

I’ve been searching monarch sites for several weeks and this is the first forum I’ve found to connect with others raising Monarch. I actually live in Southern California, US where we have butterflys year round. Last June we moved to new property where many tropical milkweeds have attracted the butterflies. All through the summer, I saw two cats though many butterflies. Last month, and suddenly, I found dozens of cats. This made me realize that the summer cats were being killed off. So I bought a habitat a couple weeks ago- I believe you call them Castles. I had five cats and now have one chrysalis and two in the J position. Yesterday, one of the cats couldn’t get through the chrysalis process and is still hanging with the bottom half exposed. I’ve learned so much about rearing but I’m still very new at it. I have two first insar cats that I’ve just put in the habitat. I collected 24 eggs and today I transferred two newborns into a container. (I’d love to hear from anyone who has raised cats from eggs.) I had also found two tiny cats and they are also in the habitat as of this a.m.. And yesterday while I was clearing the garden around the milkweed I found a health-looking chrysalis on the ground and taped it to a branch I put in the habitat. And yesterday one of my J cats actually rigged itself on the side of a pot I have in there. One thing I’ve noticed is that the cats don’t turn active until the sun starts to warm up their habitat. I’ve never read anything about that.

Two things, or really three: 1) is it OK to be on your forum if I live in the States? 2) I’d love to hear how any of you have been successful or not, in dealing with OE and other diseases. Lastly I want to say that researching your forum archives is so educational. That’s how I found out that several people have had their cat “poop-out” prior to finishing the chrysalis process.

Thanks so much,
    Sandra