planting and covering swan plants

• This topic is empty.
  • Creator
    Topic

belong
    Participant

Hi, I am new to monarchs. I have a strip of garden about 1m wide and 15m long, in the sun with corr. iron fence behind that I am planting in swan plants for next spring. I have 6 good plants about 50 cm high and will plant them about 1m apart. May get more plants. Is this OK?

Thinking of making frames to carry mesh so that I can sheild any particular plant when it has cqaterpillars or to let an eaten out plant regenerate. Does this make sense. Would appreciate any advice

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Boopino
    Participant

“the butterflies would just find a sheltered spot in a tree and not require any food or flight. Their systems “shut down” just as they do midwinter”

Thanks for that Jacqui- I can relax now!!

Swansong
    Participant

“I think fresh, old-fashioned varieties of flowers are the best thing you can give them.”

I would totally agree with you Jacqui. I should have recommended natural flowers 1st, but I was thinking more in the line of a very temporary measure of the 1st 24 to 48 hours. Usually they wont “eat” anything anyway. When they are so new and then are lots of butterflies around I think its safer indoors until they dry out their wings properly. Of course one could cut some flowers to put them on those. I’m still on a learning curve as to whats in my garden that is suitable. I saw one today and have done in the past, on my red flowered geraniums, as I mentioned a wee while ago BOY!! they sure liked my tiger lillies. They were into them like robbers dogs, as was the case too with my thornless blackberry. I haven’t noticed they are fussed with lavender flowers. Probably too much thymol or what ever you call that menthollee stuff.