The Impact of Painted Apple Moth Spraying

• This topic is empty.
  • Creator
    Topic

Kylie
    Participant

I’m an AUT University Journalism student and I’m really interested in writing a story on the monarch butterflies.

I just wondered if anyone had noted a decline in numbers since the painted apple moth spraying a few years ago?

A lot of people around me believe this is a problem for them in West Auckland, I just wondered if anyone else had found this also.

Viewing 9 replies - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Replies

CathMitchell
    Participant

We have never had so many monarchs in our garden – we have lived out east towards Howick for 15 years. It only occurred to me recently that the lack of butterflies has probably been due to aerial spraying. I remember the friendship that flew as close as a few 100 metres from our house and so low you could see the pilot. Thankfully they didn’t come over our house and I can’t remember if its was windy on the days the spraying was done but we have really only had butterflies back in the last year or two.

lucia22
    Participant

I lived in Point England during the spraying for white spotted tussok moth, the forerunner of the painted apple moth spraying. There was a noticable decline in insect life during the spraying, but this had been anticipated. When the all-clear was given, a festival was organised at Point England reserve, and 1,000 monarch butterflies were released to repopulate the area. It didn’t take long before monarchs were seen around the garden again, but there were no wasps, or cabbage butterflies for a while.

tabbycat
    Participant

During the time of spraying I brought a healthy Swan plant home from Point Chev. to feed my caterpillars. They all died. No wonder there was a drop in butterfly numbers. Hope they are recovering.

snufflesnz
    Participant

I think they used Foray 48B, which was banned in the UK.

Terry
    Participant

Hi All